The Demise of Dubstep

Okay I will admit it, I used to love dubstep. We had such a simple relationship, it would come on at some party or specified venue and it would make me dance like a retarted puppet. Yes dubstep was fun and I still have fond memories of us together.

Although over the past year or two, I’ve noticed that dubstep started acting weird. I would go out and try to dance like old times, but instead I was met with moronic idiots dressed in ripped neon shirts that whole sale for fifty-five dollars.

Theres no denying that the entire scene surrounding this once unknown type of music has totally changed into something never seen before. It goes beyond a typical techno rave. Now, colorfully dressed, drunk and drugged freshman flock to popular venues to hear the whomp whomp. Of course, I never embarrassed myself as a freshman making me totally qualified to make that statement.

Forget about fun, being with friends and the music itself- the dubstep scene has turned into a big shit fest centered around consumerism and stupidity.

The most recent show I atended (and probably my last), was the real deal breaker. Instead of seeing wild dance moves and feeling the passion of the performers, I saw neon drunks grinding up on one another at the front of the stage, shirts that say “Sorry for partying”, and kids dressed as a members from LMFAO. What I am trying to say is that dubstep and dubstep shows have become places where;

a.) people to act like complete morons

b.) people dress like everyone else to “fit in”

c.) no one even cares about the music anymore

Clothing companies like Let’s Rage have even attempted to capitalize on this new wave of dubsteppers (?) by making sure that youre completely unique rave outfit looks just like everyone else for double the price.

ARE WE COOL YET!?

When did we start allowing people to do this? Im sure the first few people who started dressing like this had something genuinely unique in mind but now its so *YAAAWN*!

Even large companies like The North Face have caught wind of how marketable this new scene and used a Bassnectar song in their most recent commercial.  Luckily its good for something now; making money.

I don’t know whats next for dubstep, hopefully death, but sadly I think its just going to get worse. More and more people are going to get into the craze and pretty soon no one will listen to actual music- with actual singers and real live instruments.

Im not saying I hate dubstep- theres a time and a place for it. Like in the car going to party with friends…but what I do hate is what the scene has become. If I ever dare to go to another dub show I’ll be that chick in the corner making fun of you.

SIDE NOTE: there still is good dub though if you really look for it….heres a site that has some outstandingly decent music. ENjoy!

http://hearingcolors.com

One thought on “The Demise of Dubstep

  1. POOP MACHINE says:

    DUBSTEP SUCKS

Leave a Reply

